Program Room

Classic 5 Jazz

Date: 
Sat, 10/14/2017 - 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Classic 5 Jazz Quintent Concert free and open to all. In the large program room.

Children's Theatre Class G. Cole Productions

Date: 
Repeats every week until Wed Oct 25 2017 .
Wed, 09/20/2017 - 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Wed, 09/27/2017 - 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Wed, 10/04/2017 - 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Wed, 10/11/2017 - 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Wed, 10/18/2017 - 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Wed, 10/25/2017 - 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Are you between the ages of 6-12 years and feel that you were born for the stage? Take this 6 week theatre experience and learn lines for a special performance on October 25 for parents. Starts Wednesday Sept 20th. Ends Oct 25. For info about the production email gladyspawt@aol.com. To register call the library at 769-9044 x2. Program is free.

Fabulous Fluorites

Date: 
Thu, 09/07/2017 - 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Fabulous Fluorites 1 hour presentation by Tony Cesana, RI Mineral Hunters, free and open to all ages.

Young Minds in Motion STEAM program

Date: 
Repeats every week until Sat Oct 07 2017 .
Sat, 09/16/2017 - 10:00am - 11:30am
Sat, 09/23/2017 - 10:00am - 11:30am
Sat, 09/30/2017 - 10:00am - 11:30am
Sat, 10/07/2017 - 10:00am - 11:30am

Youg Minds in Motion is a science experiment program

 sponsored by the United Way of Rhode Island Women United

Great for ages 8-12

Combines Science, Technology Engineering Arts & Math (STEAM) to create and design and build projects and experiments with energy.

Registration begins September 11

Music is Fun with Mr. Rowland

Date: 
Repeats every 2 weeks until Fri Dec 29 2017 .
Fri, 09/08/2017 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 09/22/2017 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 10/06/2017 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 10/20/2017 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 11/03/2017 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 11/17/2017 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 12/01/2017 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 12/15/2017 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 12/29/2017 - 10:30am - 11:30am

Program cancelled on Friday 9/22/17!

Music is Fun with Mr. Rowland 

Every other Friday 10:30-11:30am

Great for ages 6 & under with caregiver

Mr. Rowland brings his guitar and music shakers 

for little ones and sings children's songs that will entertain all.

Registration begins September 11

Homeschooling 101

Date: 
Thu, 08/10/2017 - 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Homeschooling 101 is for parents who are interested in learning more about homeschooling.

How you you begin? Is there a network of parents who homeschool? How do you choose a curriculum?

What you need to know to get started will be covered in this program.

Zombie Survival for Teens

Date: 
Wed, 08/09/2017 - 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Imagine the Zombie Apocolypse was upon us...what would you need to know in order to survive?

Learn real life skills and techniques for the zombie apocalypse! In this hands-on workshop teens will learn:

-Basic first aid and first aid kits
-How to shoot a real crossbow (with safe foam- tipped arrows designed for indoors)
-How to design an emergency bag or Bug Out Bag
-How to "lost proof" yourself
-Knots and lashings
-How to construct an emergency shelter
-How and where to make camp

 

Jedi Academy for Teens

Date: 
Repeats every week until Fri Aug 18 2017 .
Fri, 08/04/2017 - 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Fri, 08/11/2017 - 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Fri, 08/18/2017 - 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Make safe swords with pvc pipe, foam insulation and colorful duct tape.

Learn the styles of Sith and Jedi from our resident stage combat expert.

Battle with friends.

 

Great for middle and high school students

Stories from India & Henna hand art

Date: 
Wed, 08/02/2017 - 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Listen to stories from India and also get your hand decorated with henna art.

Only 20 spots available for Henna. Everyone welcome to listen to stories.

Wednesday August 2nd 2-3pm

Great for ages 5  & up. Teens welcome too.

 

Sponsored by RI Center for the Book.

Big Nazo

Date: 
Thu, 08/10/2017 - 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Great for ages 7-12

Big Nazo makes foam puppet masks. This is a free fantasic workshop. Everything is supplied by libray and Big Nazo. Just bring your imagination.