Program Room

Dave Marchetti's Animal Experiences

Date: 
Mon, 02/15/2016 - 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Dave Marchetti's Animal Experiences takes place from 2-3pm on Monday February 15th during school vacation week.

Free tickets are given out for this program so we do not exceed room capacity. Tickets available February 8th.

This program is great for all ages. Dave brings a wide variety of animals from snakes, to turtles, to chinchillas.

ZUMBA for Kids 8-12

Date: 
Sat, 02/20/2016 - 10:00am - 11:00am

Certified Fitness Zumba Kids Instructor Corinne R. Collier will lead a Zumba class for kids ages 8-12.

Classes take place 10-11am on  Saturday February 20th and Saturday April 23rd for school vacation week.

Please wear comfortable clothes and socks & sneakers.

Parents do not attend Zumba.

Introduction to Homeschooling

Date: 
Thu, 11/05/2015 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Introduction to Homeschooling

AskRI.org Workshop

Date: 
Sat, 09/19/2015 - 11:00am - 12:00pm
www.ASKRI.org Workshop for all ages
 
 presented by World Book Specialist Debra Ferranti
 
Saturday September 19th 11-12am @ Woonsocket Harris Public Library
 
There are 12 online databases, log on and check them all out!!

Music is Fun with Mr. Rowland

Date: 
Repeats every 2 weeks until Fri May 20 2016 .
Fri, 01/22/2016 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 02/05/2016 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 02/19/2016 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 03/04/2016 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 03/18/2016 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 04/01/2016 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 04/15/2016 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 04/29/2016 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Fri, 05/13/2016 - 10:30am - 11:30am
Mr. Rowland – Music is Fun
 
Selected Fridays 10:30-11:30am
 
January 8 & 22
 
February 5 & 19
 
March 4 & 18
 
April 1 & 15 & 29
 
May 6 & 20
 
 
For more information call 769-9044 ext 2 or email cgoldstein@woonsocketlibrary.org
For ages 6 & under. Parents attend with children.  Walk-ins are welcome if program is not full.

Clem Labine: Always a Dodger

Date: 
Wed, 08/26/2015 - 6:30pm - 9:00pm
 
Rick Elliott was born in N.Y.C. but moved with his family to Rhode Island when just a youngster. His dad was relocating to Woonsocket, Rhode Island to assist three brothers in the family business, Jacob Finkelstein & Sons. It was in Rhode Island where his father met Clem Labine, then a 16 year old in high school, working in the shipping room at Finkelstein's.

Conscious Unparenting

Date: 
Mon, 07/20/2015 - 7:15pm - 9:00pm

As children of the carefree 1970s, Kim Kinzie and Dawn Michael felt unprepared for the endless demands of 21st century parenting. Was it just the two of them who found motherhood so taxing? Dumbfounded, they asked fellow moms to share their feelings about raising children. Initially, conversations were polite and scripted. Determined to get to the truth, the authors took a risk and shared their deepest and darkest parenting stories. These exchanges fostered feelings of acceptance and validation.

Henna by Heather

Date: 
Mon, 07/20/2015 - 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Monday July 20th at 2:00 the Woonsocket Harris Public Library presents Henna by Heather, a workshop aimed at those 11 and up. Heroines of medieval India were some of the first people in the world to wear fabulous, intricate henna designs that are so popular throughout the world today.

Fandom Central

Date: 
Repeats every week until Fri Aug 21 2015 .
Fri, 08/07/2015 - 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Fri, 08/14/2015 - 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Fri, 08/21/2015 - 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Fridays August 7th, 14th and 21st 
Join our resident ubergeeks for a lively and spirited discussion of movies, tv, comics, games and anything else you can think of. If you’re a fan we want you there!

Teen Songwriting Class

Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu Jul 16 2015 .
Thu, 07/09/2015 - 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Thu, 07/16/2015 - 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Everyone who loves music and anyone who’s ever wanted to write their own songs should be at the Woonsocket Harris Public Library on Thursday July 9th and 16th  from 3:30 to 4:30 for two special classes in songwriting with Josh Gannon-Salmon. The program is aimed at kids in Middle School and High School and will give you a chance to work closely with a talented musician. The two classes will allow students to come up with a song one week and polish it the next. Josh Gannon-Salmon is a skilled performer who has played all over the New England area.